The following provide governance, management and administration for the Runaka.

Donna Matahaere-Atariki
Ngai Te Ruahikihiki Ngati Taoka, Te Atawhiua

Rūnaka chairperson


I am a great grand-daughter of Eliza and Ihaia Potiki. I have two adult children, Winnie and Matt and 12 year old Akatere who attends Bathgate Park Primary school, two granddaughters, Mataawhio Dragomira Lola and Atawhiua Delilah, one grandson, Tutekawa Leonarndo and a very patient partner, Tony Atariki.

I have a background in education, health and social services both at a community and public sector level and am currently executive director of Arai Te Uru Whare Hauora a community based provider of health and social services in Otago.

I have experience engaging with a broad range of agencies having previously worked as a policy director for government in Wellington and as a contractor to a range of government agencies including the ministry of education.

I am a ministerial appointment to the University of Otago Council, an elected member of the Ministry of Health NGO Working Group, Trustee of the Southern PHO, Chairperson of Bathgate Primary School, an elected BoT for Brockville Primary School and a National NGO representative of the National Taskforce on Family Violence. I also sit on a number of committees both locally and nationally.

I am honoured to be chairperson and bring to the position a belief in the ability of whanau to realise their potential. I see the role of the runanga as key to enabling success for those wishing to participate and to encourage greater engagement of whanau in all aspects of the runanga's business.

Michelle Taiaroa McDonald - Manager

Sha Hemopo - Executive Administrator

Julz Asher - The Wharekai Co-ordinator


Amie Curtis - Kaitoko Matauraka

Natalie Karaitiana - Museum Curator

Sarah- Jane Cuthers - Komiti Co-ordinator